web analytics

Select Page

Hungarian University Film Award – the participating universities

Hungarian University Film Award – the participating universities

New film award launched in Hungary! The Hungarian University Film award is open to students studying at one of the eight participating universities.

In the spring semester of 2020/2021 academic year, following the example of European University Film Award (EUFA), the Film Education Working Group developed and launched the Hungarian University Film Prize (MEF).

In the network of eight universities, 150-180 students could participate in the analysis and jury during in-class or out-of-class (film club-like) courses supervised by eleven renowned professors. The final six films were selected from a list of Hungarian movies released in 2019. The novelty of the project stems from the fact that critical film analyses are carried out in courses of various programs by students of different backgrounds.

Students enrolled in arts education, practical filmmaking, art mediation, liberal arts, and English studies examined the films through the lenses of their professors’ freely selected approaches. Final decision will be made at a workshop organized after the completion of the courses, where each group will be represented by a student.

The award ceremony will take place at the autumn conference of the Hungarian Film Society. The journal Apertúra will devote a thematic issue to the methodological lessons of the project as well as to the best student works. The participating universities are:

  • University of Debrecen
  • Eszterházy Károly Catholic University, Eger
  • Eötvös Loránd University
  • Budapest Metropolitan University
  • Moholy-Nagy University of Arts
  • Pázmány Péter Catholic University
  • Hungarian University of Transylvania
  • University of Szeged

About the Author